What is a Marriage License?
In order for a wedding ceremony to be considered a legal marriage, one must apply for and be issued a marriage license prior to the ceremony. A marriage license is issued on the same day a couple applies (please see below for information on how to obtain a marriage license), but a marriage license is NOT proof of marriage.
Following your wedding ceremony, the officiant will complete the bottom portion of the marriage license indicating who they are, where and when the ceremony took place, and the witness(es) will sign. New York State’s Domestic Relations Law §14 states that the entire marriage license should be returned to us within five (5) days of the wedding ceremony.
Once the ENTIRE completed license is returned to the Town Clerk’s Office, we will issue a Marriage Certificate. The Marriage Certificate is the legal document required to prove that you are legally married. The Marriage Certificate will be automatically mailed within five (5) business days after the completed license is returned by the marriage officiant. Couples who do not receive a Marriage Certificate within four (4) weeks of the wedding should contact the Town Clerk’s Office at (585) 359-7035.
How to Obtain a Marriage License
It is not necessary to obtain a Marriage License in the municipality in which the applicants are being married and you do not need to be a resident of Henrietta in order to apply in our office. Marriage Licenses applied for in our office are valid for ceremonies held within the New York State, except the five (5) boroughs of New York City.
For more information on getting married in New York State, including who can perform a marriage ceremony, please visit the New York State Department of Health’s website.
Marriage Licenses are issued Monday through Friday between the hours of 9:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. on a walk-in basis (No appointment is required). Please note that the wait time may be a little longer during the lunch hour.
Marriage License Validity / Waiting Period
Marriage Licenses must be obtained at least 24 hours before the ceremony, and the license is valid for sixty (60) days following the 24 hour waiting period.
What you need to bring with you
The following list will guide you on what each person will need to bring with them in order to obtain a license from the Henrietta Town Clerk’s Office. Please note that both applicants must be present in order to apply for a Marriage License.
*Please note that a passport can be used for either the Identity Related Document or Age Related Document, however a passport cannot be used for BOTH the Identity related document and the Age related document.
If this is not the first marriage for either party, a time-stamped copy of the Divorce Decree or Death Certificate (with raised seal) for each previous marriage must be presented.
The fee is $40.00 and includes the issuance of one (1) Marriage Certificate. We accept cash, check, VISA, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express. Please note that there is 2.4% service fee or a minimum of $1.50 service fee for credit and debit card payments. This fee is not charged nor collected by the Town of Henrietta, but the payment processor.
It is important for applicants to be prepared to indicate their choice of surname (last name) when applying for a Marriage License. For more information on surname options, please visit the New York State Department of Health’s website.
If you are in need of an officiant to perform a civil ceremony, the Town of Henrietta has two options:
To schedule an appointment with one of the Town Justices, please call (585) 359-2640 or email firstname.lastname@example.org and the Court Clerks will put you in touch with one of the Town Justices.
Information on Marriage Transcripts
If you originally obtained your Marriage License from the Town of Henrietta and need an additional transcript, the Town Clerk’s Office would be able to provide a Certified Transcript of Marriage. A Certified Transcript of Marriage is an abstract from the marriage record issued with a Town seal. It includes the names of the contracting parties, their residence at the time the license was issued, date and place of marriage as well as date and place of birth of both parties. A Certified Transcript of Marriage may be used as proof that a marriage occurred.
Marriage Records are not public information, therefore they are only released to a party listed on the record or an individual authorized by one of the listed parties. If you are able to visit our office during normal business hours (Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.), you can request a Certified Transcript of Marriage right at the Town Clerk’s Office counter as long as you have valid identification and are a party listed on the Marriage Record. If you are not able to stop by the Town Clerk’s Office in person, you would need to complete the pdf Request for Certified Transcript of Marriage Record. (171 KB)
Each Certified Transcript of Marriage Record is $10.00. If you need the requested Transcript(s) mailed to you, there is an additional $10.00 mailing fee. If you need your Certified Transcript of Marriage Record(s) mailed to you, in order to expedite the turnaround time, you can now .
Please note that there is a minimum $1.50 service fee for online payments. This fee is not charged nor collected by the Town of Henrietta, but the payment processor.
In order to use your Marriage Certificate or Certified Transcript of Marriage Record in a foreign country, you will most likely need an Apostille from New York State in order to authenticate the document.
In order to receive an Apostille for a Marriage Certificate or Certified Transcript of Marriage Record, you will need to first take that document to the Monroe County Clerk’s Office to obtain an “Oath of Office Certificate” for a $5.00 fee. Please note that you do NOT need to be listed on the marriage record in order to receive the “Oath of Office Certificate” from Monroe County.
Monroe County Clerk
Attn: Oath of Office
39 West Main Street
Rochester, NY 14614
You will then need to send the Marriage Certificate or Certified Transcript of Marriage, “Oath of Office Certificate”, and a $10.00 fee to New York State for the Apostille.
New York Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
Apostille and Authentication Unit
PO Box 22001
Albany, NY 12201-2001
For more information on Apostilles, please visit the Department of State’s website at: https://www.dos.ny.gov/licensing/apostille.html.